skip to main content

High Contrast | (-) Smaller Font | (+) Larger Font
Photo of Catalyst Award.

There is a class of people who inspire action and foster the achievements of others, while taking none of the credit for themselves.

They are catalysts.

In 2000, the Trace Center launched this award to honor such people and their contributions to the field of technology and disability. Named for the first recipient, Dr. Harry J. Murphy, the award is presented at the CSUN International Technology and Persons with Disabilities Conference. This annual conference, which Dr. Murphy founded, has become preeminent in its field, and a meeting place for people from around the world who are interested in using technology to improve the lives of people with disabilities. The award recognizes Dr. Murphy's efforts year round to bring together and enable the efforts of people throughout the world - providing new opportunities, contacts and entries for new participants to our field.

"Catalysts are elements or chemicals that can cause or accelerate reactions but do not, themselves, get used up. They are, in this case, people who make things happen by their presence and by what they do. They don't necessarily do everything themselves, but they bring out and enable the best in the rest of us. They connect us, and facilitate our interactions so that we all can do great things."

- Dr. Gregg Vanderheiden

"A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle."

- proverb

2011 Catalyst Award

Klaus Miesenberger has been chosen as the 2011 Catalyst Award Winner. The award will be presented Tuesday evening, March 15, 2011, at CSUN's 26th Annual International Technology and Persons with Disabilities Conference, Los Angeles, California.

Catalyst Award Recipients